1 little pepper recipe

Since the last couple of weeks I have been focussing on new and different recipes for my hot peppers. With my job and other things going on ( just moved in with my girlfriend Lonneke) it is hard to find the time. But my passion for food will always come through even when I’m really tired, I always love to make something nice and creative to eat every day.

Our garden has multiple different kinds of pepper and vegetables so when I sit outside and look at our garden, inspiration will pop up almost immediately. Off course also with the peppers.

The last couple of weeks the Caribbean Habanero’s where doing great and were ready to harvest. During the harvesting I recalled a couple of recipes I learned when I was living on the Island of Curacao. I remembered how good the recipes were but that I would give my own twist to it.

I decided that I would try out those recipes again and figure out how I can give that different twist to it. When I was making the recipes it all came togheter in my mind and started straight away.

After a couple hours this were the results
Roasted tomato sambal
Smoked ‘pika’
Pickled habaneros

Hereby the first recipe, the others will follow later.

Smoked Pika ( salsa)

4 big onions
20 cloves of garlic
500 gr seasoning pepper or bell pepper
250 gr of habenero
2 tablespoons of raw cane sugar
100 ml apple cider vinegar

Cut the onions in half
Put the onions, all the pepper ( seasoning/bell and hot) and garlic in a tray
Smoke all these ingredients for two hours in cold smoke ( like smoked salmon for example)
After two hours of smoking put all the ingredients in a food processor and blend it till fine little cubes.
Store it in jars in your fridge.

This spicy salsa is good with seafood, vegetable salads, pork and a lot more. Try it out yourself!!

Stay tuned for the next recipe..

Yohan

Published by Thoffo_byYohan

Hi my name is Johan and I live on a tiny Island in the Caribbean

2 thoughts on “1 little pepper recipe

    1. Hello Bernadette, thank you for reading my blog and want to try one of my recipes. Thank you for your question.
      If you don’t have a smoker you use liquid smoke, you can buy this usually in the supermarket or specialty store. Liquid smoke has a very strong flavor so be carefull that you don’t use to much of it. Let me talk you through the recipe with the liquid smoke.
      First you start with putting the onion, garlic and seanoning or bell peppers in the foodprocessor and blend it to fine cubes.
      The next step is to heat up an appropriate size pan with a drop of oil.
      You can then add this veggie mix in the pan on medium/low heat and slowly stir it around untill it becomes a little more tender. This will take a couple of minutes.
      The next step is to add your sugar and let it disolve in the veggie mix on low heat. This will also take couple of minutes and the best is to slowly stir it in.
      When the sugar is disolved, turn off the heat and add the vinegar and the liquid smoke. The best way to use the liquid smoke is to start with 2 drops, stir it in and have a taste. If you want it more smokey add 1 or 2 drops more in your mix. Be carefull when you use this because liquid smoke very strong in flavor.
      When you have the right flavor and balance of smoke, spice and sweetness of the sugar for yourself, you can put it in jars and let it cool down before you can cover it with a lid and put it in the frigde.
      But if you can’t find liquid smoke, an alternative is to use one of your favorite BBQ sauces and add a couple of tablespoons in your mix after you add the sugar.

      I hope this was helpful for you and if you have any more questions, don’t be afraid to let me know.
      Enjoy making and eating the sauce👨🏼‍🍳 have a great day!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started