A celebration at the Cove

On the Island I live on, we have and celebrate a lot of different cultures, countries and the national days of other countries and islands from all around. Today our Filipino community were celebrating their 125th year Independence Day, and it was a big party at Cove Bay.


My boss Vernon and I were also invited to come down and I will never pass up an opportunity to enjoy good food so we had to go down and see it for ourselves. My manager and my food friend Arlene had invited us to come by and celebrate this special day with them and enjoy the warm hospitality and delicious food they had made for the day. Arriving a little later, the party started at 12, we had a warm welcome from Arlene and some other Filipino friends I have on the island and I immediately was handed an empty plate and was told to go straight to the kitchen to grab some of the many different delicious foods they had prepared earlier today. Well I won’t say no to that!

My food friend and Manager Arlene and me

Knowing the passion of the people from the Philipines that they have for food and making tastefull food I knew I was in for a treat. But also having eating the food Arlene, her sister and friends made before, Arlene makes an awesome Embutido by the way, I knew it was going to be a little foodfest in my mouth.

When I arrived at the kitchen, the table was filled with a very big variety of passionately made food and I really did not know where to start!

Good vibes!

Different kinds of noodles, marineted and BBQed pork and chicken parts and bits, Adobo chicken and so much more! And my personal favorite, Loempias or another name for it is fried springrolls! Arlene’s sister Lhet Lhet makes these regularly and sells them at one of the supermarkets and you have to be quick because these fly out the door.  A nice spicy and crunchy snack with a flavourful filling with some sweet chili sauce! Unfortunatly before I could take a photo these were already in my belly so I will owe you a photo of these tasty snacks, I’m sorry for that!
After grabbing a plate of food, I then sat down and started enjoying the food and the company around me, good vibes all around. When I finished my plate, I was recommended to try the desserts they made aswell and I was handed a nice fluffy and tasty rice cake and Guave candies on a stick. Which were really colorfull and delicious.

Enjoy the sweet rice cake and guave candy


After a couple hours talking to most of the people there at the party and after enjoying some time at the rest of the party it was time for me to go home and take some rest as I am still recovering from an injury on my leg.
It was a very enjoyable afternoon with a lot of good food, good company and good times. I want to thank Arlene, Lhet Lhet, Sofia, Glenn, Rachel and all the other people from the Filipino community for this amazing afternoon filled with joy, music, good conservations, delicious food and their warm and generious hospitality.

I’m signing off for now and I will be back soon to begin my new series of food posts ” A twist of Dutch”.
I hope you have a great day and I hope to see you back soon.

Untill we meet again.
Yohan

Published by Thoffo_byYohan

Hi my name is Johan and I live on a tiny Island in the Caribbean

5 thoughts on “A celebration at the Cove

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started